- Ealaíontóirí tosaigh na Scannán -

About the Society

The Irish Society of Cinematographers aims to promote and nurture the art and craft of Irish Cinematography. The Society is by invitation only. Its members work internationally on a wide range of Film, TV and Commercial work, and have received numerous acknowledgements for their work including multiple nominations and awards from the BSC (British Society of Cinematographers), ASC (American Society of Cinematographers), EMMY Creative Arts, BAFTA and ACADEMY awards, as well as Ireland's own IFTA awards (Irish Film and Television Academy).


  • Each potential member needs to have completed a substantial body of work which exhibits a very high standard of cinematography over a period of at least five years, demonstrating creativity and an appreciation of the art of cinema and more than just professional competence.
  • Each potential member is required to be a working cinematographer and not retired, and in all cases should carry the main cinematography credit for the work presented for consideration.
  • Each potential member should be an Irish citizen or have Irish residency and/or have lived and worked on the island of Ireland for a period of not less than three years prior to their proposal.
  • Each potential member will be required to submit three separate 10 minute examples of their work, with material drawn from Feature, TV Drama and Feature Documentary productions that have been aired, streamed, screened or released theatrically and generally made available to the public at the time of submission.

The Society is led by a President and a Vice President, both of whom serve a 4 year term. They are supported by a Treasurer and a Board of Governors.
A non-member company secretary provides logistical support.

The current leadership of the ISC is as follows:

President: Stephen Murphy
Vice President: Tim Fleming
Treasurer: Arthur Mulhern

Board of Governors:
Ciaran Kavanagh
JJ Rolfe
John Lynch
Stewart Whelan

Company Secretary: John Leahy